A Slow Luxe Welcome Gift That’s 103 Years Old

As I said on Saturday, I am so thrilled to have been added to Doodle Home’s list of featured designers.  I also gave you a peek at a wonderful welcome gift Doodle Home sent me and promised to tell you what was in the box on Monday.

Why the suspense?  Mostly because I had 45 people coming to a Farm-to-Table fundraising dinner at my home Saturday night and wanted to be able to describe the gift properly.  It’s such a fabulous Slow Luxe gift!

By the way, I’ll tell you about the dinner in another post because it was a terrific combination of Slow Food and Slow Luxe Design……

The gift inside the box is truly Slow Luxe Design.  It’s the very definition of Inheritable Design, in fact.  It is a beautiful handmade tile of a peacock from Detroit’s Pewabic Pottery–the only design known to have been signed by founder, Mary Chase Perry Stratton.  It’s gorgeous.

Like I’ve said, Slow Luxe Design is not a new concept.  Mary Stratton and Horace Caulkins founded Pewabic Pottery in 1903 and  they certainly embraced it.  The Arts and Crafts Movement of the early twentieth century embodied it, shunning machine-made products and championing the return of craftsmanship.

Renowned for their heirloom craftsmanship and brilliant, iridescent hand-applied glazes, Pewabic Pottery became internationally renowned.  Their architectural tiles have been used in many notable public and private buildings and Pewabic is represented in such museums as the Detroit Institute of the Arts and the Freer Gallery at the Smithsonian.

Today, Pewabic is a multi-faceted non-profit ceramic education institution with a museum, classes, workshops, lectures, tours, and residency programs for studio potters.  Their store showcases emerging and established artists.

And Pewabic is also involved in community-building.   One of their upcoming events is Empty Bowls.

A number of years ago two artists, Lisa Blackburn and John Hartom had the idea to involve potters in a grass-roots movement to alleviate hunger that had spread too many communities.  A simple meal of bread, soup and water, donated by area restaurants, will be held on Saturday, February 25, from 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. at Pewabic Pottery.  All proceeds will go to Gleaner’s Community Food Bank in Detroit, which serves area agencies feeding the hungry.

For a donation of $5 to $25, participants get to choose a bowl donated by local artists, students, children’s workshop participants or the Pewabic staff, with which they enjoy a meal of soup and bread.  They then keep their bowl as a reminder of the prevalence of hunger and their own power to overcome that hunger.

I’m so appreciative to Doodle Home, for the thoughtful and inspiring, Slow Luxe gift from their home town of Detroit.

Stop by Doodle Home if you haven’t already–to shop. design, learn or connect.   And why not take a video tour of Detroit’s Pewabic Pottery if you have a little extra time on your hands?

2 thoughts on “A Slow Luxe Welcome Gift That’s 103 Years Old

  1. I am so sorry I missed this post! How interesting to read about Pewabic Pottery and their architectural tiles. I am actually a ceramic tile nut. We built a home in Charlotte 13 years ago and the selection of tile was my biggest obsession. The home I thought we were going to be in forever turned out to be a 2 and a half year stint. We had some great memories in that house, but do I ever miss those hand selected tiles! Way too much information, but thank you for your post. I enjoyed it!
    elisa

  2. Thank you, Elisa! Never way too much information. I always enjoy your posts and your comments. I totally get it! How’s this for a story of tile obsession? I was in labor with my oldest son while designing my mother-in-law’s bathroom tile. I didn’t want to let anyone know the situation until I was satisfied with the tile designs, so I just kept it to myself until we were done.

Leave a Reply

