Where’s that notebook from Day #2? On Day #26: Got an Idea? Write it Down

Credited to Life on Michigan Avenue

29 Ways to Stay Creative

#26 on the list is: Got an idea? Write it down.

The other day, I posted about asking my subconscious mind to solve my more stubborn creative problems while I sleep. Well, because that strategy is so effective for me, I keep a pad of paper and a pencil by my bed. There’s nothing worse than having a great idea and not remembering it.

I keep note pads and pens tucked away anywhere inspiration might strike, including my car, my purse, my laptop bag, my kitchen and my bathroom. I have ideas all day long–when I’m driving, cooking, showering, and of course, when I’m working. Good ones, bad ones, crazy ones, mediocre ones. I write them down or sketch them. I can evaluate them later. I can develop the worthy ones. But, if I don’t write my ideas down, there’s a really good chance they’ll disappear into the ether. And, believe me, I’ve let a lot of good ones get away. Probably some pretty lame ones, too.

Have you ever had the experience of forgetting a great idea because you didn’t write it down?  Tell me about it!

Handpainted French Wallpaper, 1930s

Leave a Reply

