Day #17: Count Your Blessings

Credited to Life on Michigan Avenue
29 Ways to Stay Creative

Day 17: Count Your Blessings.

On November 18, 2008, I took my oldest son to a swim meet in Orange County. Midway through the day, I began feeling sick to my stomach. By the end of the day, I was barely able to stand up. I had my son drive me to the emergency room in La Jolla with his newly minted driver’s permit, where they sent me home with no explanation and pain medication.

After two full weeks of excruciating pain (think child-birth), fever and several tests, my old friend, Jeff, admitted me to the hospital and ran a CT with contrast. Within an hour, he knew what was going on–the inner lining of my renal artery had “dissected”, like wallpaper peeling in a room, and cut off the blood flow to my kidney.

Suddenly, I had a team of five doctors and possible diagnoses of which I had never even heard.

They were a wonderful, caring team of physicians. And they took the best possible care of me, talking to each other the entire time so that the whole effort was coordinated. Talk about blessings.

For the next two years. I was in a lot of pain, and there were plenty of unexpected twists and turns to the plot.

My kidney was healing, but if you’ve been in pain, you know pain is a funny thing. It can burn a neural pathway, and it doesn’t go away just because the cause of it is gone. My family and friends were with me the whole way, through everything, helping me through it. Yet more blessings.

And now, when I wake up, and I’m not in pain–that’s definitely something I count as a blessing.

To tell you the truth, I think November 18, 2008 was actually a huge blessing. It helped me take stock of my endless list of blessings–the most significant being that I have the internal strength and the support of those around me (my husband and three awesome kids, for starters) to get through whatever comes my way. Bring it.

I would say that November 18th even led me to where I am today: Slow Luxe Design. Everyone has a story. Slow Luxe Design lets me tell my clients’ stories in a mindful and meaningful way, with high-quality, local handcrafted, antique and vintage pieces. My clients aren’t generic and their stories can’t be told by mass-produced, generic consumer goods.

I didn’t plan on telling it, but there it is. That’s my story. Everyone has a story. What’s yours?

Leave a Reply

