Day #5: Quit Beating Yourself Up

Credited to Life on Michigan Avenue

29 Ways to Stay Creative

Good morning. And I do mean good morning. It’s 4:30 a.m. Why, I don’t know.

Day #5. Quit Beating Yourself Up.

I’m not going to lie to you. This one is tough. I’m like most creative people I know. I’m pretty hard on myself.

But, here’s the thing: There’s a difference between having high expectations of yourself and beating yourself up.

Having high goals is what helps you do great work. Being critical of the work you’ve done helps you improve your work in the future. All that is motivating and empowering.

Beating yourself up is just demotivating. It kills your creative spirit.

Have a great day.  Do good work.  Be nice to yourself, ok?

Leave a Reply

