Bob Vila Welcomes Me to His Family

In case I haven’t mentioned it previously, in addition to being a designer/decorator/blogger, I am, above all, the mother of three (fantastic) kids.

David is 20 and winding up his sophomore year at Tulane in New Orleans.  He’s a pre-med Econ major.  Alisa is an 18 year-old high school senior, heading to Brandeis University in Waltham, Massachusetts in the Fall to study journalism.  (Maybe she should be writing my blog.) And Max is a 13 year-old 7th grader who likes to surf, cycle, play basketball, read, swim and play tennis.  He will be hanging out with me and my husband right here in La Jolla in the Fall. Hooray for Max!

My kids have grown up around construction and design.  With both David and Alisa, I was in labor while designing bathroom tile.  I like to immerse them in the process early! Max started visiting job sites and showrooms when he was just a few weeks old and he’s been riding shotgun ever since.  He could probably specify my jobs for me in a pinch.

As a family, we’re always involved in building something, whether it’s a job in our own home, a development project, renovating one of rental properties or helping a family member with their home.  Fortunately, my husband, Ira (a veterinarian) also loves building and we are a great team!

When David was about 3, the two of us discovered This Old House and The New Yankee Workshop on PBS.  My then-toddler and I spent hours discussing Bob Vila and Norm Abram and their projects. I really can’t admit how many hours we logged watching woodworking projects on the “New Nankee Workshop” and broadcast visits to various This Old House construction sites. Many hours.

Well, a few days ago, I got an email letting me know I had been chosen to be one of the featured national contributors for Bob Vila Nation. I’ll post about Slow Luxe Design–inheritable spaces that celebrate the luxury of mindfully curated vintage and antique pieces and locally handcrafted goods. To say the least, I am beyond excited about this opportunity.

Unbeknownst to him, Bob Vila has been a part of my family for years, but it’s a huge honor to be welcomed into his. So, please be on the lookout for my posts on Bob Vila Nation soon. And in the meantime, check out some of the great articles on the Bob Vila nation site about home design and renovation.

2 thoughts on “Bob Vila Welcomes Me to His Family

  1. Congratulations! What a great opportunity to share your message and connect others to the “luxury of mindfully curated vintage and antique pieces and locally handcrafted goods.” I know your family is as proud of you as you are of them.

Leave a Reply

