Well-Considered Detailing: That’s the Benchmark of Slow Luxe Design

    In my last post, I showed you a happy selection of textiles from Studio Bon’s handprinted collection through Schumacher in the color way Sun.  In it, was a custom end-of-bed bench that I had done in Studio Bon’s Bellows fabric.

I thought I would show you in this post what went in to creating that bench for my client on my end, the design side.  And first, I want to tell you that the bench you see at the bottom of the page is not the bench that was originally part of my design.  So, here’s the story:

Originally, I had ordered a bench from a supplier in Los Angeles, along with the bedside tables.  When I followed up on a delivery date, I was told that I had picked up the bench.  “Uh….why would I be calling if I picked it up?” I asked.  Well, as it turns out, two of the same bench were ordered the same week by my firm and another firm, but only one bench got ordered–and, you guessed it, it was the other designer’s.

Okay.  Here’s the first thing about design:  We are all about contingency plans.  Things happen.  The show must go on.  I already had the Studio Bon fabric in my office.  I couldn’t wait for the bench.  So, after thinking it through, I came up with a plan.

I got quotes and determined that I could execute my plan within budget and on time and then I put together a small concept board with a sketch, a photo of a similar vanity bench with acrylic legs, a swatch of the fabric and I headed over to see my client.

I know my client well and know that she loves Hollywood Glam, so I thought the acrylic legs had a good chance of selling the idea.  I also thought they would do something fun visually with the zigzag rug that would relate to the Webster border on the Leontine Linens blanket cover.   Long story short, she very thankfully signed off on the idea.


The next step was to take the Bellows fabric and design the bench.  You can see by the drawing that I sweated the detailing, making sure to center the pattern and size the bench exactly so that it would scale properly to the bed and have the exact number of full repeats across.  I also wanted to make sure that the pattern would line up from the front with the top.  Finicky business, but worth the trouble, and all the information on the drawing takes the guess work out of fabrication for the workroom.

By the way, I ended up making the side view of the legs look the same as the front view after I got a call from the acrylic manufacturer, telling me my leg design wasn’t going to be stable.  One of the best parts of design is that I have had the opportunity to learn from experienced craftspeople, trades, suppliers, vendors, reps and colleagues every day.

So, there it is.  That’s what went into this Slow Luxe bench.  It was made by hand locally, not overseas in a factory.  The fabric is handprinted in America on natural linen.  It was mindfully designed and crafted by hand in my own community.  It’s inheritable, unique and it celebrates the luxury of artisan craftsmanship.

9 thoughts on “Well-Considered Detailing: That’s the Benchmark of Slow Luxe Design

  1. Awesome post! When challenge meets creative designers/problem solvers, thoughtful craftspeople, the solution is a reminder that the challenge was a gift and not a problem. The bummer of course is that I’ll never be satisfied with a mass produced bench.

  2. Finicky business indeed. Love the post, I feel like half (if not more) of the battle is solving these types of problems, actually thriving from the looks of your gourgeous creation!

Leave a Reply

